Three D Radio announcer, Megan Cat (up until recently with her husband, the late Peter Brat) lives in "The BratHaus" a rural seaside home about 100km from Adelaide on South Australia's scenic Fleurieu Peninsula.
Veteran musician Peter, and artist/musician Megan, were long-time DJs on Three D Radio 93.7fm
, Adelaide's eclectic independent music station.
Together Peter & Megan, known as "The Cat and The Brat" created this blog to allow listeners to review the playlists of their radio show, "Technicolour Dreaming" , watch clips of selected songs and simply join them in the enjoyment of their favourite music... psychedelia, 60's garage,
surf, punk/post-punk, pop, folk-rock, glam, 'Krautrock', goth, 80's electro... and much more!
But The Cat is carrying on the tradition, with guest co-presenters, and "Technicolour Dreaming" will continue in the same format, drawing from the huge "Cat & Brat" music collection, with the addition of new releases and reissues to keep things current. The Brat is hugely missed, but the show must go on, as he wanted...

Tuesday, February 10, 2015

Technicolour Dreaming

Sometimes we just can’t resist playing the old favourites, and this was one of those weeks, with songs by the Dead Skeletons, the Monks, the Flower Machine, Kelley Stoltz and Wooden Shjips peppering the playlist (and just what is a “Kim Chee Tacothe Cat has often wondered??) Our choice for “Compilation of the Week” was similarly a particular favourite of ours, Scott Walker‘s “BoyChild : the Best of Scott Walker 1967-1970”. Strictly speaking it’s an anthology rather than a compilation, but hey, who’s making up the rules – we are! The collection in question covers Scott’s first four LPs, “Scott”, “Scott2”, “Scott3” and “Scott4” plus 1970’s “'Til the Band Comes In” and was originally released in 1990 and then re-mastered and re-released in 2000, which is the version we used. So, until the next instalment of “Technicolour Dreaming” next Tuesday.....
..... here is the playlist, with a few visual goodies, including a full episode of the 60’s TV show “Adventures in Paradise”, whose memorable ‘surf instro’ theme song has been covered by a number of bands, including Normie Rowe’s backing band, the Playboys, who included it on their 1965 LP.

Dead Skeletons - Psychodead      ("Dead Magik" 2011 Iceland)

Molting Vultures - Insane Jane      ("Drop in and Go"  2009 Adelaide, Australia)


Zakary Thaks - A Passage to India      (acetate recorded 1966, released on "Passage to India" anthology 2010 Texas, USA)
Sons of Hippies - The Soft Parade (Doors cover)      ("A Psych Tribute to the Doors" compilation 2014 Germany/USA)
H.P. Lovecraft - The White Ship      ("H.P. Lovecraft" LP 1967 Chicago, USA)
Neighb'rhood Childr'n - She's Got No Identification     ("Neighb'rhood Childr'n" LP 1968 Oregon, USA)

the Silhouettes  - All a Lie     ("Psychedelica 5" compilation 2013 UK)
the Janitors - Aside (Outside)      (recorded 2013 Sweden – taken from "Trip Inside this House, Summer Solstice Vol. VI" compilation 2013 Missouri USA)
the Flower Machine - In A Play Anyway      ("Marmoset Meadow" EP 2010 USA)
the Fallen Angels - Introspective Looking Glass     ("The Fallen Angels" LP 1967 USA)
the Monks -  I Hate You    ("Black Monk Time" LP 1966 USA/Germany)

Sheetah et les Weissmuller - Pire que le silence      ("!Hola Ye Yeah! " 2007 France)
the Cool Ghouls - Insight      ("A Swirling Fire Through the Rye" 2013 USA)
the Playboys - Adventures in Paradise [TV theme cover]      (“The Playboys” LP 1965 Australia)

                        ###Compilation of the Week###   
 BoyChild : the Best of Scott Walker 1967-1970

Scott Walker - The Plague      ("Scott 2" LP 1968 - taken from "BoyChild - The Best of Scott Walker 1967 - 70" anthology 2000 UK)

Scott Walker - Girls from the Streets ("Scott 2" LP 1968 – taken from “BoyChild” anthology)
Scott Walker - Plastic Palace People     ("Scott 2" LP 1968 – taken from “BoyChild” anthology)

Scott Walker - The Old Man's Back Again (Dedicated To The Neo-Stalinist Regime)         ("Scott 4" LP 1969 – taken from “BoyChild” anthology)
Scott Walker - Prologue      ("'Til the Band Comes In" LP 1970 – taken from “BoyChild” anthology)
Kelley Stoltz - The Kim Chee Taco Man      ("Double Exposure" 2013 USA)
Paul Parrish - Walking in the Forest (Of My Mind)      ("The Forest of My Mind" LP 1968 USA)
Sonny and the Sunsets - Alice Leaves for the Mountains      (“Talent Night at the Ashram" 2015 USA)
Wooden Shjips - Down By the Sea      ("Dos" 2009 USA)

No comments: